The Dreams of Ada

The Dreams of Ada

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
For fans of Serial and Making a Murderer, the true, bewildering story of a young woman’s disappearance, the nightmare of a small town obsessed with delivering justice, and the bizarre dream of a poor, uneducated man accused of murder.

On April 28, 1984, Denice Haraway disappeared from her job at a convenience store on the outskirts of Ada, Oklahoma, and the sleepy town erupted. Tales spread of rape, mutilation, and murder, and the police set out on a relentless mission to bring someone to justice. Six months later, two local men—Tommy Ward and Karl Fontenot—were arrested and brought to trial, even though they repudiated their “confessions,” no body had been found, no weapon had been produced, and no eyewitnesses had come forward. The Dreams of Ada is a story of politics and morality, of fear and obsession. It is also a moving, compelling portrait of one small town living through a nightmare.

"A riveting true story of a brutal murder in a small town and the tragic errors made in the pursuit of justice." --John Grisham

Baker & Taylor
The true story of how the disappearance of Denice Haraway, a young woman from Ada, Oklahoma, tore apart the small midwestern town and irrevocably corrupted its sense of justice describes the crime, the investigation, and the resulting trial and conviction of two men, in a focused analysis of the American criminal justice system. Reprint. 60,000 first printing.

Baker
& Taylor

The true story of how the disappearance of Denice Haraway, a young woman from Ada, Oklahoma, tore apart the small midwestern town and irrevocably corrupted its sense of justice.

Publisher: New York : Broadway Books, c2006
ISBN: 9780767926898
0767926897
Characteristics: 494 p. ; 21 cm

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top