The Alchemyst

The Alchemyst

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Series, Book 1

Downloadable Audiobook - 2007
Average Rating:
4
2
Rate this:
Read the first book in the New York Times bestselling The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.He holds the secret that can end the world.The truth: Nicholas Flamel was born in Paris on September 28, 1330. Nearly 700 years later, he is acknowledged as the greatest Alchemyst of his day. It is said that he discovered the secret of eternal life.The records show that he died in 1418.But his tomb is empty.The legend: Nicholas Flamel lives. But only because he has been making the elixir of life for centuries. The secret of eternal life is hidden within the book he protects—the Book of Abraham the Mage. It's the most powerful book that has ever existed. In the wrong hands, it will destroy the world. That's exactly what Dr. John Dee plans to do when he steals it. Humankind won't know what's happening until it's too late. And if the prophecy is right,...
Publisher: New York : Listening Library (Audio), 2007
Edition: Unabridged
ISBN: 9780739351055
Characteristics: audio file,rda
1 online resource (8 audio files) : digital
Additional Contributors: O'Hare, Denis

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
BigBooks000
Jan 03, 2017

I noticed that this book was very popular and so I put a hold on it. It took a few months to finally come in, proving that it must be good. I was glad I did, I enjoyed listening to this story. This book is the 1st in a series of Nicholas Flamel. As all 1st books, it has to get you updated with the characters, what the plot is going to be. But I found that the plot was interesting. About half way thorough the story, I knew I had to reserve the next story. I hate giving away spoilers, so I will just say... It's a good start. I do recommend this book to people who enjoyed Magic such as Harry Potter. For me, Harry Potter and the Sorcerers Stone only touched on who Nicholas Flamel was. This series sort of made him more interesting.

JCLChrisK Jul 26, 2013

I'm just finally getting around to this one even though it's been out for a while, but the series has been a regular request by young readers, many of whom seem very excited about it, so a couple of weeks ago when I wanted something to listen to while working around the house I decided to give it a try. It didn't really excite me, and I've been sitting on it all week trying to find inspiration for something to say in a review. This afternoon I decided to gain a little momentum by seeing what others have said in their reviews, and I can see I'm not alone in my lack of enthusiasm. It would be a two-star, "it's okay" rating from my experience and the writing in general, but I'm giving it an extra star because it does have good appeal for the right readers, which I've seen as a librarian.

k
Kirb
Jul 12, 2013

What a great beginning to a series. Thoroughly enjoyed. History and fantasy!

b
BookReviewer101
Jun 10, 2010

This is a superb book of magic, a little bit of mythology and tons more! This series is a great series for people of all ages!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

b
BigBooks000
Jan 03, 2017

BigBooks000 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

c
childress03
Jun 09, 2014

childress03 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 10 and 17

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top