Night Heron

Night Heron

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
Set in China, and ripped from today's headlines, comes a pulse-pounding debut that reinvents the spy thriller for the 21st century. A lone man, Peanut, escapes a labour camp in the dead of night, fleeing across the winter desert of north-west China. Two decades earlier, he was a spy for the British, now Peanut must disappear on Beijing's surveillance-blanketed streets. Desperate and ruthless, he reaches out to his one-time MI6 paymasters via crusading journalist Philip Mangan, offering military secrets in return for extraction.
Publisher: New York : Redhook, 2014
Edition: First US Edition May 2014
ISBN: 9780316399838
Characteristics: 387 p. ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
TJJ52
Sep 17, 2015

supsenseful look inside China and inside espionage.

ChristchurchLib Jul 13, 2014

"Twenty years after his imprisonment for protesting in Tiananmen Square, Chinese engineer Li Huasheng escapes the labour camp, eager to return to Beijing and pick up where he left off -- trading Chinese technology secrets to the U.K. in hopes of defecting. Once in the city, he coerces a former friend into releasing secret documents, then gives them to a British reporter with instructions to hand them to the British embassy. Which is when all hell breaks loose for both of them -- betrayals and double-crosses abound. Multiple narrators help sustain the tension, while fast-paced chase scenes and the plausible nature of the documents make this debut "compulsively readable" (Kirkus Reviews) and perfect for fans of Cold War thrillers looking for something a little more contemporary." Thrillers and Suspense July 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/2c47e9e5-d355-491f-87b1-c136ab375b01?postId=36471ee9-07d6-46ed-ba48-5fde3e03c300

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
PPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top