The Briar King

The Briar King

Book - 2003
Average Rating:
3
1
1
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
Two thousand years ago, the Born Queen defeated the Skasloi lords, freeing humans from the bitter yoke of slavery. But now monstrous creatures roam the land—and destinies become inextricably entangled in a drama of power and seduction. The king’s woodsman, a rebellious girl, a young priest, a roguish adventurer, and a young man made suddenly into a knight—all face malevolent forces that shake the foundations of the kingdom, even as the Briar King, legendary harbinger of death, awakens from his slumber. At the heart of this many-layered tale is Anne Dare, youngest daughter of the royal family . . . upon whom the fate of her world may depend.

Baker & Taylor
Two millennia after humans were freed from the tyranny of slavery, the Briar King, a legendary portent of death, reawakens, and the fate of the kingdom lies in the hands of the king's woodsman, a rebellious girl, and a new-made knight.

Baker
& Taylor

Two millennia after the Born Queen had defeated the Skasloi lords, freeing humans from the tyranny of slavery, deadly creatures once again terrorize the land as the Briar King, a legendary portent of death, reawakens, and the fate of the kingdom lies in the hands of the king's woodsman, a rebellious girl, an adventurer, a young priest, and a new-made knight. Reprint.

Publisher: New York, NY : Ballantine Books-Del Ray, 2003
ISBN: 9780345440709
0345440706
Characteristics: 584 p. 17cm ; cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

f
Filthy_Doves
Apr 26, 2016

Honestly my favorite book series, would recommend to any fans of fantasy novels.

j
JihadiConservative
Feb 18, 2016

Keyes stunned the fantasy community with his phenomenal new high fantasy novel, The Briar King, a few years ago. This guy is a master of the English language. His writing is both witty and beautiful; sort of an Oscar Wild meets J.R.R. Tolkien synergy. His plot is thick, rich with interesting characters (and the dialogue is top notch and at times, hilarious), and the world fairly gritty, though less so than George R. Martin's. Keyes takes old fantasy cliches and creates something new. I can't recommend this fantasy series enough. Keyes continues his excellent standard throughout the series for the first couple, but the last book things fall to pieces.
What a magnificent start and an equally magnificent failure of an ending. Had Keyes kept things up, this series would have been up there on the Great or Top 100 list, but now it's only Good enough. Shame.

JCLJaredH Jun 18, 2014

The first book in the Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone series, this is a story of complex plots, flawed and complicated characters, political machinations spanning the world, and a shadow seeding chaos everywhere. While not as intricate as some stories out there today (A Song of Ice and Fire), it still delivers a well thought out story of men, magic, and monsters.
Fans of Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire series and Williams Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn series should enjoy this four book series.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

c
cpurvis
Dec 27, 2010

cpurvis thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

c
cpurvis
Dec 27, 2010

The first book in the Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone series.

The Born Queen, Virgenya Dare, defeats the evil Skasloi with magic and frees humanity from slavery. The Skasloi king tells Virgenya humanity is cursed. About 2300 years later, Dare's grave is found by her descendant, rebellious Princess Anne.

The forester Aspar White rescues a novice monk, Stephen Darige, from a kidnapping. Aspar is warned about the mythical Briar King by the strange Sefry travellers.

Evil Prince Robert murders his sister and tricks his brother into war with nearby Hansa. Queen Muriele secretly sends Anne and her friend Austra to a convent to be trained as an assassin. Muriele and her two other daughters evacuate to the country, aided by loyal knight Neil MeqVren who is in love with Princess Fastia.

At the monastery, Stephen finds corruption within the church, and prophecies concerning the terrifying Briar King. Beneath the castle, the captive last Skasloi (known as "the Kept") makes evil predictions. Anne's training takes a strange turn as she finds herself in a magical realm. On her return, Anne is warned she must be Queen to save the world.

The other princesses are murdered as Neil and Muriele watch helplessly - themselves saved only by the appearance of the Briar King. As the assassins aim for their final target, Anne and Austra escape the mass slaughter at the convent, aided by swordsman Cazio and his mentor z'Acatto. Prince Robert murders the king who deals a fatal wound as he dies.

Muriele, back in Eslen, consults the Kept from whom she gets the most terrible curse imaginable to cast on the murderer of her husband. She does not know that it was Robert and that he is also dead. The curse, however, is more powerful even than death and by casting this on Robert, Muriele inadvertently and unintentionally breaks the Law of Death.

The Briar King ends with the awakening of Robert, now a form of undead, which also explains the title of the next volume, The Charnel Prince

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top