Tracing It Home

Tracing It Home

A Chinese Journey

Book - 1993
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
The author recounts the lives and experiences of her family in Shanghai, from the 1940s and the Japanese occupation, to the revolution and beyond

Blackwell North Amer
In the tradition of Wild Swans and Life and Death Shanghai, Lynn Pan's Tracing It Home weaves a captivating tale of a family caught up in the turmoil of twentieth-century China. Set in motion by the death of the author's mother, the narrative chronicles the unraveling of an intricate puzzle of familial relationships spanning three generations and two continents.
Here is Shanghai in the forties and fifties - a universe of drug addiction, anarchy, suffering wives, and concubines - a way of life on the brink of collapse. From this world emerges a parade of unforgettable individuals: the grandfather, a flawed but brilliant tycoon, and his two mistresses, Pearl and Jade Peach; the mother and grandmother, who refuse to waive their claims to love and fidelity; and Hanze, the devoted family retainer who paid for his loyalty with twenty-four years in labor camps. Pan follows these lives through the years of Japanese occupation, revolution, and exile, and shows how the larger wave of history takes its toll on the hearts and minds of ordinary people.
With the intimacy of a novel and the pace of a mystery, Tracing It Home is a profoundly moving portrait of China in this century.

Baker
& Taylor

The critically acclaimed author of Sons of the Yellow Emperor provides a lyrical memoir of Shanghai during the 1940s and 1950s, as the lives of the author's grandfather and his heirs are set against the backdrop of the turbulence of a changing China.

Publisher: New York : Kodansha International, 1993
ISBN: 9781568360096
1568360096
Characteristics: 229 p. ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at PPL.

Try searching for Tracing It Home to see if PPL owns related versions of the work.


Suggest For Purchase

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top