"Twenty years after his imprisonment for protesting in Tiananmen Square, Chinese engineer Li Huasheng escapes the labour camp, eager to return to Beijing and pick up where he left off -- trading Chinese technology secrets to the U.K. in hopes of defecting. Once in the city, he coerces a former friend into releasing secret documents, then gives them to a British reporter with instructions to hand them to the British embassy. Which is when all hell breaks loose for both of them -- betrayals and double-crosses abound. Multiple narrators help sustain the tension, while fast-paced chase scenes and the plausible nature of the documents make this debut "compulsively readable" (Kirkus Reviews) and perfect for fans of Cold War thrillers looking for something a little more contemporary." Thrillers and Suspense July 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/2c47e9e5-d355-491f-87b1-c136ab375b01?postId=36471ee9-07d6-46ed-ba48-5fde3e03c300

[]
[]
To Top